A Virginia court seal, usually seen in a criminal defense case in Newport News and Hampton.

Perjury Criminal Defense


Perjury

A person is guilty of perjury if:

  • an oath is lawfully administered on any occasion
  • willfully swears falsely on such occasion
  • touching any material matter or thing.

Perjury is punishable by up to ten years in prison and/or a $2,500 fine. Representation by criminal defense lawyer is always recommended.

If any person to whom an oath is lawfully administered on any occasion willfully swears falsely on such occasion touching any material matter or thing, or if a person falsely make oath that any other person is 18 years of age or older in order to obtain a marriage license for such other person, or if any person in any written declaration, certificate, verification, or statement under penalty of perjury pursuant to § 8.01-4.3 willfully subscribes as true any material matter which he does not believe is true, he is guilty of perjury, punishable as a Class 5 felony. Upon the conviction of any person for perjury, such person thereby shall be adjudged forever incapable of holding any office of honor, profit or trust under the Constitution of Virginia, or of serving as a juror.

VIRGINIA CODE: http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title18.2/chapter10/section18.2-434

Read Our Criminal Defense Attorney Testimonials

Anyone could find themselves facing criminal charges. A criminal charge can have lasting effects on the lives of those with such charges on their records. In order to effectively handle a serious legal situation, individuals often need to understand what they are facing. If you have a criminal law charges in Newport News, Hampton, Williamsburg, Yorktown or the rest of the Hampton Roads area, call the criminal defense attorneys at Goff Voltin, PLLC today.